Bill Richardson: Susana Martinez has not respected me

Former Gov. Bill Richardson showed up at the Capitol on Thursday to talk about the Middle East on a cable news show.

Seizing the opportunity, a handful of reporters gathered outside the small studio in the Capitol where officials go to get interviewed by CNN, FOX, ABC, CBS. Specifically, many of us wanted to know how Richardson thought Gov. Susana Martinez was handling things after taking over.

“I’m a private citizen guys,” Richardson said to us. “I┬ásaid that I would not get into commenting on legislative matters and I’m not going to do it.”

How is the governor handling things, I asked.

“I really am not going to comment,” Richardson responded. “I think every governor should respect the previous governor, although this governor has not respected me. But I’m not going to comment. I am not going to get into legislative opinions.”

How has she not respected you, I followed up. He and his aide, Caitlyn Kelleher, were exiting the Capitol through one of the doors as I asked this.

“That’s enough guys. But it’s good to see you guys. I’ve missed you.”

And then Richardson was gone.

About triptothecapitol

Trip Jennings is a Capitol reporter at the Santa Fe New Mexican.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

