Senate appoints members to driver’s license conference committee

A few minutes ago the state Senate refused to retreat from the amendments it added to House Bill 78, which in its original form would have stopped New Mexico’s practice of giving state drivers’ licenses to illegal immigrants.

The Senate changes would allow the state to keep issuing drivers’ licenses to undocumented individuals, but would tighten up rules against fraud, supporters say.

Because the Senate refused to back down on the changes, the House and Senate must now go to conference committee. Each chamber appoints members to the conference committee.

Sen. President Pro Tem Tim Jennings, D-Roswell, just appointed the Senate’s three conferees: Sen. Peter Wirth, D-Santa Fe; Sen. John Ryan, R-Albuquerque; and Sen. Howie Morales, D-Silver City.


About triptothecapitol

Trip Jennings is a Capitol reporter at the Santa Fe New Mexican.
This entry was posted in 2011 New Mexico Legislature, Immigration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s